Skip to main content

DeLib Discovery: Help

What is DeLib Discovery?

DeLib Discovery provides access to all of DeLib's physical resources plus online full text resources from a large number of databases. DeLib Discovery can also expand a search to find other resources available only as citations (i.e. not as full text). The full text of these resources can be requested through DeLib's interlibrary loan services (ILLiad). Note that while DeLib Discovery can search many databases simultaneously, more complex searches should be performed in each database individually using their original search interfaces.

DeLib Discovery consists of three search tools: "DeLib Catalog", "Articles & More", and "eJournal Titles". Each search tool can be selected using the radio buttons above the search box. Selecting a tool changes the search box hints and advanced search links available:

  • "DeLib Catalog" provides access to tens of thousands of online and physical resources:
    • Online: links to research databases, ebooks, videos, websites, images, slides.
    • Physical: print books and journals, Blu-ray disks, DVDs, CD-ROMs – all located in the DeLib's Reading Room.
  • "Articles & More" provides access to tens of millions of jurnals articles, conference materials, reviews, reports and other online resources from a large number of research databases.
  • "eJournal Titles" provides access to thousands of titles from DeLib's ejournal collection plus links to these ejournals at the publishers' or vendors' websites.

The Search Results page

Searching with any of DeLib Discovery’s search tools will produce a search results page listing items matching the search terms used.

The red menu bar across the top of the page includes navigation links to each of the search tools, other WCM-Q pages, and My EBSCOhost.

My EBSCOhost

Users of DeLib Discovery can create a "My EBSCOhost" account using the "Sign In" link in the red menu bar at the top of the search results page. This allows searchers to:

  • Save and organize search results folders.
  • Save and retrieve their search history.
  • Export selected search results to RefWorks, EndNote, etc.

Users who have previously created a "My EBSCOhost" account through another EBSCOhost database, e.g. Academic Search Premier, can sign-in to that account through DeLib Discovery.

Scope of the "Articles & More" and "eJournal Titles" search tools

The "Articles & More" search tool finds results across a large number of research databases, and provides direct links to the full text of resources with some exceptions. (See the What is searched by the DeLib Discovery "Articles & More" search tool? and What is NOT searched by the DeLib Discovery "Articles & More" search tool? sections below.)

By default, search results are limited to articles in the ejournals in the DeLib ejournal collection, allowing for a search focused on pre-selected health, medical, and interdisciplinary resources. These are both subscription and open access/free ejournals selected by the librarians or recommended by WCM-Q faculty, staff and students. However, the scope of DeLib Discovery can be expanded to full content of the underlying databases by unchecking the "DeLib eJournal Collection Only" limiter found to the left of the search results list. Note that some of these additional resources may be unavailable in full text.

The "eJournal Titles" search tool provides access to the list of ejournal titles held in the DeLib ejournal collection. Each title is linked to one or more publishers' or providers' websites, allowing users to browse or search within the content of the individual journal.

Search tips and syntax

  • In the "DeLib Catalog" and "Articles & More" search tools, searchers can use either the dropdown menu to the left of the search box or the "Advanced Search" to search within a specific field such as Title, Author, etc. (This feature is not available in the "eJournal Titles" search tool.)
  • Running an empty search can be helpful for exploring all available Material Types (for "DeLib Catalog") or Source Types (for "Articles & More") before selecting corresponding limiters to the left of the search results list.
  • Use an asterisk * to match variant ending of words: medic* for medicine, medical, medication...
    Note: an asterisk is NOT required to match plurals or possessive cases. For example, patient will automatically find patients and patient's.
  • Use quotation marks for exact phrases: "biochemistry experiment"
    Note: if a word is enclosed in quotation marks, plural and possessive forms will not be searched. For example, "patient" will only find patient, and not patients or patient's.
  • Group terms with parentheses and logical operators: ("molecular biology" OR biochemistry) AND smok*
  • Use search help  to get more search help and tips.

What is searched by the DeLib Discovery "Articles & More" search tool?

Nearly a hundred databases are searched. Their names can be found on the left side of the search results screen.

These databases come from the following publishers:

ACM, Cambridge, EBSCO, ‚ÄčElsevier, Gale, Nature Publishing, NLM (MEDLINE), Oxford, Sage, SpringerLink, Taylor & Francis, Thomson Reuters, Wiley, ... and hundreds of others.

Additionally, there is Complementary Index database from EBSCO which is not shown in the limiter's list and includes resources from various publishers.

What is NOT searched by the DeLib Discovery "Articles & More" search tool?

Databases listed below are not searched.

  • SciFinder / Chemical Abstracts (from American Chemical Society)
  • PsychTherapy (from American Psychological Association *)
  • Factiva (from Dow Jones)
  • Compendex, EMBASE, GEOBASE, Nursing Consult (from Elsevier *)
  • Dissertations, Archives, Newspapers, Periodical Databases, etc. (from ProQuest)
  • BIOSIS Previews, Zoological Record, WestLaw, ONE Banker (from Thomson *)
  • UpToDate (from Wolters Kluwer *)

* These content providers also offer other databases which are not listed here but they are searched. For example, while Elsevier's Compendex is on this list, DeLib Discovery searches most of Elsevier's ClinicalKey database including 2,000 journals.