Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Cite

Learn about how to use different citation styles and the bibliographic management tools that can help you manage them. Covers APA, Vancouver, Mendeley, Zotero, EndNote, Refworks, and more.

What is Mendeley?

Download Mendeley here

Manage References

  • Quick and simple installation
  • Citation styles for thousands of journals
  • Create bibliographies with the greatest of ease
  • Share and edit collaborators' bibliographies

Where is my material saved?

Mendeley stores your research material on your computer, but it also backs up your entire account 'in the cloud' which allows you to sync across more than one computer / tablet / phone.

Why should I use Mendeley?

The program stores your references, figures, and PDFs, which makes retrieving these items easy. Mendeley also works with Microsoft Word and Open Office to enable you to insert in-text citations and generate bibliographies with just a few mouse clicks. The social network feature lets you interact with colleagues on research as well as see what other people in your field worldwide find interesting.

Read and Annotate PDFs

  • Easily organize PDFs
  • Search full text of PDFs
  • Highlight and make notes on PDFS
  • Share notes with collaborators
  • Print notes along with the PDF

Collaborate

  • Share documents with collaborators, complete with notes
  • Create groups to connect with collaborators
  • Social media to monitor and comment on group activity

Cross-Platform

  • Available for Mac and Windows
  • Desktop client can be installed and linked to on an unlimited number of computers
  • Fully functional mobile apps

Download, install, set up

  1. Sign up for Mendeley.
  2. Download the reference manager
    • Mendeley is available for Windows, Mac, Linux and mobile systems, as well as online.
  3. Download the web importer
    • Easily save references and PDF files into your personal library. The Mendeley Web Importer is compatible with Science Direct, Google Scholar, PubMed and many many other online catalogs.
  4. Download Mendeley Cite
    • Add citations as you write in Microsoft Word.

Mendeley Groups

Private Groups: Provides an easy way to share documents and notes with a small number of colleagues and research partners, up to 25 members. All members of the group may contribute documents that can then be viewed, annotated, downloaded, and cited by the other members. This is the ideal group type for sharing resources between small groups of researchers. You can create up to 5 groups with a free account. Storage space is limited to 2GB. Learn how to create groups in the Desktop or Reference Manager version using the Mendeley guide.

The public and invite-only groups features of Mendeley are no longer available.

Using Mendeley Search

You can use Mendeley to monitor articles that are popular or newly added to a particular discipline.

When browsing articles in Mendeley Search, you will have the option to Save a Reference to your library. If there is a PDF attached that is from an Open Access journal or a publicly accessible repository, such as PubMed, you will have the option to Save PDF to your library.

Mendeley Desktop FAQ/Tips

  • Automatic extraction of document details (authors, title, journal, etc.) from academic papers into a library database, which saves you a lot of manual typing! As more people use Mendeley, the quality of the data extraction improves.
  • Super-efficient management of your papers. "Live" full-text search across all your papers - the results start to appear as you type! Mendeley Desktop also lets you filter your library by authors, journals, or keywords. You can also use document collections, notes and tags to organize your knowledge, and export the document details in different citation styles.
  • Sharing and synchronization of your library (or parts of it) with selected colleagues. This is perfect for jointly managing all the papers in your lab!
  • All PDFs must be kept in a folder on each device that you use with Mendeley for the program to work properly. When you download the desktop version of Mendeley, a folder is automatically created. The Downloads folder is in your Mendeley data folder. Find it here: PCs - C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Local\Mendeley Ltd\Mendeley Desktop\Downloaded; Macs - Cmd+Shift+D; click Open Data Directory to access the folder. Note: If you work on more than one computer, these folders will not contain the same files; each device will have the PDFs that were added from that computer.
  • Want your PDFs stored elsewhere? Create a new folder in the new location (for example, your desktop). For PCs: in Mendeley Desktop, from the Tools menu, select Options, then File Organizer. Browse to find the new folder, click Apply, then OK. For Macs, use Preferences.
  • Use the desktop version of Mendeley to insert citations & create bibliographies in documents.
  • When creating a bibliography in your document, first place your cursor where you want the bibliography to go (in most cases, at the end of the document), then click the icon. If you forget, your bibliography will appear wherever your cursor was last.
  • Working on a paper with a colleague & need to combine the sections & bibliographies? Just select everything except the bibliography in one document, paste it into the original document, then click Refresh on the Mendeley toolbar.

Mendeley Advantages

An online back-up of your library: Store your documents in your account and access them from anywhere through your browser.

Detailed statistics: You can upload your own publications to your research profiles, then track the evolution of your readership. How often are your papers downloaded or read? From which academic disciplines and geographic regions? Additionally, there are detailed statistics for each academic discipline and research topic. Who are the up-and-coming authors in your discipline? What are the most widely read papers on a specific subject?

A research network that allows you to keep track of your colleagues' publications, conference participation, awards, etc., and helps you discover people with research interests similar to yours.