Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Cite

Learn about how to use different citation styles and the bibliographic management tools that can help you manage them. Covers APA, Vancouver, Mendeley, Zotero, EndNote, Refworks, and more.

What is EndNote?

 

is a software program for managing your own library of references for your assignments/research.

 

This is an overview of using EndNote:

 

 

Getting EndNote installed

To request EndNote software, (on a WCM-Q machine ONLY) login to ITS ticketing system here using WCM-Q username and password. From the menus, select: Information Technology Services Requests > Software and Applications > Request application from WCM-Q catalog > Request service. When you are filling out the form, Endnote is one of the available selections in the "What software or application are you requesting for?" section.

Creating and setting up an EndNote library

Creating an EndNote library

  • Open EndNote by double-clicking on the EndNote icon OR by locating EndNote on the computer's hard drive.
  • Depending on the program's preferences, you may see differing options here: the most recently-used library may open OR you may see a blank EndNote application window. To create a new library, go to File > New.

 

  • Name your library (the default name for any new library is "My EndNote Library"), check the Save as Package box and and pick a location on your computer where the library will be saved.

  • Click Save.

Setting up an EndNote library

Once you have created a library, there are a number of functions and options built into EndNote that allow you to optimize and customize your library.

Choosing and customizing Display Fields

You can choose up to ten fields to display as column headings in your library (note: all fields will still appear within each Reference)

  • Go to EndNote > Preferences.
  • Choose Display Fields from the left-hand list.

  • Choose your desired field for each column from the drop-down menus. Note: If you want to remove a column so that fewer than ten fields appear, you can choose "[Do not display]" from the drop-down menu.
  • You can also choose to display Custom fields and rename those fields as desired by changing the name in the Heading column.

 

Adding references to your library

There are multiple methods for adding references to an EndNote library. References can be manually added to a library, imported from a database such as PubMed, or they can be added directly from the EndNote interface.

1. Manually adding a reference

References can be manually added one at a time to EndNote. This is the most labor-intensive and, in most cases, least efficient method of adding references. Manual entry of references should only be used when you are otherwise unable to locate the reference in a database.

  • In EndNote, go to References>New Reference

  • A blank New Reference box will pop up.  Select the correct Reference Type (the default is Journal Article). You can then manually add information about author, date, title, etc.

  • There is no need to save the reference, it will be automatically saved when the New Reference box is closed (by clicking the red button in the top left corner of the box).

2. Importing references from a database search

PubMed MEDLINE

When searching PubMed, there are two ways to save citations into your EndNote library.

  • Citation Manager option for results of 10,000 or less
  • Plain Text File Method option for results greater than 10,000.  

​Before importing/exporting results, be sure you have the latest EndNote import filters for the databases you are searching installed on your computer.

Citation Manager option in PubMed

  • Perform your search in PubMed.
  • Select the references you want to save.
  • From the Send to drop-down menu, choose Citation manager. Select if you want to send All results, All results on this page, or the items you have selected (Selection).
  • Click Create File
  • Depending on your browser, the next steps will vary:
    • In Firefox, select Open with and click the Choose button. Navigate to select the EndNote program and click OK

  • In EndNote choose File > Import.
  • Locate the file you just downloaded (it will have an .txt extension) and select it.
  • In the Import Options field choose PubMed (NLM). Note: the first time you do this, you will need to choose Other Filters and then select PubMed (NLM) from the list of import filter options.
  • Click Import and the records will be imported into your EndNote library.
Ovid databases

Ovid databases, such as MEDLINE, available to WCM-Q library users include an option for direct export into EndNote.

  • Perform your search and select the references you want to save.
  • On your desktop, open the destination EndNote library for the references.
  • In Ovid, select Export.
  • In the Export Citation(s) box, select Format > EndNote. If you want to include all of the citation information, be sure to choose Fields > Complete Reference.
  • Click the Export button.
  • Depending on your browser, the next steps will vary. Follow the same procedure described above in the Citation Manager option in PubMed section.
WCM-Q Library SEARCH

Screenshot of SEARCH showing EndNote functions including 3 dots menu bar and selection of Endnote icon

References to books and other materials in the WCM-Q Library SEARCH catalog can be added to EndNote using the Citation feature.

  • Use SEARCH to find your item(s).
  • Once you have identified the appropriate book(s) or other record(s), select the EndNote icon under the item OR select multiple records and click the 3 dots in the upper right corner to view more options including EndNote.   
  • You will need to sign-in to continue with EndNote online.
  • Another option is to Export RIS. This feature allows you to use EndNote Desktop. Choose UTF-8 encoding, then click Download. You can then either save the file or open with EndNote.