Skip to main content

Subject Guide: Mental Health: Home

This guide directs you to a handful of key resources that will help you get started in finding information in World Health. With a highly selective list of books, journals, databases, websites, etc., we hope to get you headed in the right direction.

Books

 
Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders - American Psychiatric Association
Publication Date: 2000
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (Text Revision) guides classification and diagnosis of mental disorders as set out by the American Psychiatric Association.
 
Introductory textbook of psychiatry - Donald W. Black, and Nancy C. Andreasen
Publication Date: 2009
 
 
Kaplan & Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry Kaplan & Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry - edited by Benjamin J. Sadock M.D., Virginia A. Sadock M.D. and Pedro Ruiz M.D.
Publication Date: 2009
This is the ninth edition of Kaplan and Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry, the first of which was published in 1967, more than 40 years ago. Since then the growth of psychiatry has been marked by an explosion of research and new knowledge in neural sciences and in basic biological and psychological sciences.
 
Mental health in the eastern Mediterranean region Mental health in the eastern Mediterranean region - WHO Regional Office for the Eastern Mediterranean
Publication Date: 2006
The countries of the Eastern Mediterranean Region represent many challenges for the organization of mental health care. Many countries are in a state of rapid social change, some are in conflict or suffering the aftermath of conflict, while others are witnessing the growing problem of substance abuse, with associated HIV/AIDS rapidly becoming a public health priority.

Databases

Journals

American journal of psychiatry
DeLib Coverage: Jan 1986 (Vol. 143, no. 1) - present
British journal of psychiatry
DeLib Coverage: October 1855 - Present
British journal of psychology
DeLib Coverage: Feb. 01, 1975 - Jan. 03, 2012
Journal of Muslim mental health
DeLib Coverage: Vol. 1 (2006) - Vol. 5 (2010)
Psychiatric clinics of North America
DeLib Coverage: March 1996 - Current
Psychology today
DeLib Coverage: Jan 1986 (Vol. 20, no. 1) - present
Social science & medicine
DeLib Coverage: Vol. 16 (1982) - Current

Websites

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Provides links to a variety of Web resources discussing medical research, evidence-based medicine, technology, preventive medicine, and clinical practice guidelines.
American Psychiatric Association
The American Psychiatric Association is a medical specialty society recognized world-wide. Its 37,000 U.S. and international member physicians work together to ensure humane care and effective treatment for all persons with mental disorder, including mental retardation and substance-related disorders.
American Psychological Association
This website provides you with information on and links to the association's publications, and information on various topics such as learning, memory, sleep and a number of psychological afflictions.
Arab Psychological Sciences Network
Department of Health (UK)
HON select
Part of the Health on the Net Foundation, known for its commitment to quality health sites, this browsable and searchable site provides links to articles, websites, news, clinical trials and more.
India together
India Together provides in-depth information & news on the issues that matter covering 15 major topics and over 15 states. India Together also helps leaders, experts, practitioners, scholars and artists take their ideas, insights and concerns expeditiously to an interested national and global audience.
International Society for Mental Health Online
Education, advocacy, and information organization for professionals and consumers.
MedlinePlus
Muslim mental health
Muslim Mental Health, Inc. is an organization committed to promoting research and educational activities, introducing Muslim mental health concepts and advancing culturally sensitive therapeutic approaches.
National Institute of Mental Health
U.S. government site providing news, research information, and diagnosis/treatment information on a number of disorders.
World Federation for Mental Health (WFMH)
Seeks to improve mental health services, reduce the stigma associated with mental and emotional disorders, protect human rights of the mentally ill, promote mental health, and identify mental health issues.

Ask a Librarian at DeLib

During hours that chat is monitored, use the box below to chat with a DeLib librarian.  Alternatively, contact us via a different method by clicking here.