Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Publication Date: 2009
Transformation in the delivery of patient care, combined with changes in education, is the new paradigm for anesthesiology in the 21st century. Minimizing costs while improving efficiency and enhancing patient safety are the goals of contemporary anesthesia practice. To ensure that practitioners have incorporated the most-up-to-date information in their practice, certifying and licensing authorities have mandated continual education and testing both at the trainee and at the practicing anesthesiologist level. These changes are coupled with the need for ongoing innovation as the anesthesiologist continues to be challenged to adapt clinical management to new surgical procedures and technologies.
Clinical Anesthesia Procedures of the Massachusetts General Hospital
Publication Date: 2010
The eighth edition of Clinical Anesthesia Procedures of the Massachusetts General Hospital was written by residents, fellows, and staff of the Department of Anesthesia, Critical Care, and Pain Medicine at the Massachusetts General Hospital. This manual continues to emphasize the clinical fundamentals involved in the safe administration of anesthesia, perioperative care, critical care, and pain management. The suggestions reflect current clinical practice at our hospital and represent the foundation of the educational programs in our department's anesthesia residency, critical care, pain, and cardiothoracic fellowships.
Massachusetts General Hospital Handbook of Pain Management
Publication Date: 2005
After three decades of progress in mapping the neural mechanisms of pain, a revolution is underway in the clinical practice of pain management: increasing numbers of physicians are taking responsibility for the relief of their patients' pain. The Massachusetts General Hospital Handbook of Pain Management provides an integrated and useful overview of the knowledge base required for effective treatment of pain. The book is now in its third edition and has been updated on the basis of changes in drug availability and changes in the philosophy that guides treatment choices.
Miller's Anesthesia by
Publication Date: 2009-05-22
From fundamental principles to advanced subspecialty procedures, Miller's Anesthesia covers the full scope of contemporary anesthesia practice. It is the go-to reference for masterful guidance on the technical, scientific, and clinical challenges you face. Now new chapters, new authors, meticulous updates, an increased international presence, and a new full-color design ensure that the 7th edition continues the tradition of excellence that you depend on. Plus, with Expert Consult functionality, you'll have easy access to the full text online at www.expertconsult.com. Includes access to the full-text online for convenient referencing. Covers the full scope of contemporary anesthesia practice in just two volumes. Offers step-by-step instructions for patient management and an in-depth analysis of ancillary responsibilities and problems. Incorporates 'Key Points' boxes in every chapter that highlight important concepts. Extends the breadth of international coverage with contributions from prominent anesthesiologists from all over the world, including China, India, and Sweden. Features 30 new authors and 13 new chapters such as Sleep, Memory and Consciousness; Perioperative Cognitive Dysfunction; Ultrasound Guidance for Regional Anesthesia; Anesthesia for Correction of Cardiac Arrhythmias; Anesthesia for Bariatric Surgery; Prehospital Emergency and Trauma Care; Critical Care Protocols; Neurocritical Care; and Renal Replacement Therapy. Dedicates an entire section to pediatric anesthesia, to help you address the unique needs of pediatric patients. Presents a new full-color design -- complete with more than 1,500 full-color illustrations -- for enhanced visual guidance. Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. If the next edition is published less than one year after your purchase, you will be entitled to online access for one year from your date of purchase. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should access to the web site be discontinued.
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database providing citations to biomedical literature in the following fields: medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences.
Web of science
Web of Science is an integrated platform supporting research in academic, corporate, government, and not for profit organizations. ISI citation databases are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed to be searched by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. They can also be searched for articles that cite a known author or work. Cited reference searching allows use of a given work as if it were a subject term, to identify more recent articles on the same topic.
Publication Date: 1998 - Current
Anaesthesia is the official journal of the Association of Anaesthetists of Great Britain and Ireland and is international in scope and comprehensive in coverage. It publishes original, peer-reviewed articles on all aspects of general and regional anaesthesia, intensive care and pain therapy, including research on equipment. Although primarily a clinical journal, we welcome submissions of basic science papers if the authors can demonstrate their clinical relevance. Anaesthesia has a very high immediacy factor, demonstrating the relevance of articles to the anaesthesia community, and an impact factor of 3.008.
Publication Date: 1940 - Current
Anesthesiology is widely regarded as the preeminent scientific journal in the specialty. This is evidenced not just by its size and circulation, but by its "Impact Factor", a number which estimates the number of times the average journal article is quoted by other authors. It is also indexed as a "core" journal by the National Library of Medicine.
Obstetric anesthesia digest
Publication Date: 1981 - Current
Obstetric Anesthesia Digest provides timely summaries of the world literature in obstetric anesthesia. Each quarterly issue features dozens of clear, concise summaries of the most significant recent articles. The summaries are frequently accompanied by insightful commentary by one of the Digest's renowned editorial consultants. The articles surveyed cover all aspects of anesthesia and analgesia as they relate to the mother, fetus, and neonate. Also included are editorials, case reports, and "Short Takes"–abbreviated abstracts of secondary papers.
Publication Date: 1998 - Current
Devoted to the publication of information of interest and importance to practicing anesthetists everywhere, Pediatric Anesthesia aims to be truly international in policy and flavor. The scientific and clinical content of the journal covers a wide selection of medical disciplines in all areas relevant to anesthesia and intensive care in new-borns, infants and children.
International Anesthesia Research Society
The IARS is a non-political medical society founded in 1922 to advance and support anesthesia research and education. The IARS contributes more than $1 million annually to fund anesthesia research and provides a forum for leaders in anesthesia research to share information and ideas.
MedBioWorld is a premier online resource portal for professional medical and biotechnology information.
Subjects: Alternative Medicine
, Evidence-Based Medicine
, Internal and Family Medicine
, Medical Anthropology
, Mental and Behavioral Health
, Neurology and Neuroscience
, Obstetrics and Gynecology
, Pharmacy and Pharmacology
, Primary Care
, Sports Medicine
, Test and Board Prep
Ask a Librarian
During hours that chat is monitored, use the box below to chat with a DeLib librarian. Alternatively, contact us via a different method by clicking here.