Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology 13 E by
Publication Date: 2014-12-23
Gain a full understanding of the basic science and clinical use of drugs with the most up-to-date and comprehensive pharmacology text in the health sciences 400 ILLUSTRATIONS--MANY IN FULL COLOR A Doody's Core Title for 2017! Coverage that spans every aspect of medical pharmacology: Encompasses every aspect of medical pharmacology including botanicals and over-the-counter drugs New chapter on pharmacogenomics with important examples Emphasis is placed on discussion of drug groups and prototypes Clinically relevant, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects Full-color presentation with more than 400 illustrations Case studies introduce clinical problems in most chapters Summary tables and diagrams encapsulate important information Includes many new drugs A Generic Name/Trade Name Table appears at the end of most chapters for easy reference when writing a chart order or prescription Organized to reflect the course sequence in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, Basic & Clinical Pharmacology covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. Selection of the subject matter and order of its presentation are based on the authors' many years of experience in teaching this material to thousands of medical, pharmacy, dental, podiatry, nursing, and other health science students.
Biotechnology and Biopharmaceuticals
Publication Date: 2003
Biotechnology and Biopharmaceuticals: Transforming Proteins and Genes into Drugs defines biotechnology from the perspective of pharmaceuticals. The first section focuses on the process of transforming a biologic macromolecule into a therapeutic agent, while the second section provides a brief overview of each class of macromolecule with respect to physiological role and clinical application. Additional detail is also provided in the second section for each FDA approved, recombinantly derived biopharmaceutical for each category of macromolecule. The final section looks to the future and the new advances that will enhance our ability to develop new macromolecules into effective biopharmaceuticals. This last section discusses various drug delivery strategies while also describing gene and cell therapy strategies.
Micromedex 2.0 (IBM Micromedex)
Contains the Micromedex databases and tools: Drug Comparison, NeoFax / Pediatrics, CareNotes, RED BOOK, Tox & Drug Product Lookup, Calculators, AAPCC Codes in POISINDEX, Alternative Medicine, DISEASEDEX Emergency Medicine, DISEASEDEX General Medicine, DRUGDEX System, Imprint Codes in Identidex, Drug Interaction Checking, IV Compatibility, Lab Advisor, MARTINDALE, MSDS from USP, PDR, POISINDEX System, and TOMES System.
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database providing citations to biomedical literature in the following fields: medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences.
Annual review of pharmacology and toxicology
Publication Date: 1961 - Current
The Annual Review of Pharmacology and Toxicology, in publication since 1961, covers the significant developments in the fields of pharmacology and toxicology, including receptors, transporters, enzymes, and chemical agents; drug development science; systems such as the immune system, central and autonomic nervous systems, gastrointestinal system, cardiovascular system, endocrine system, and pulmonary system; and special topics.
Nature Reviews Drug Discovery
Publication Date: 2002 - Current
Nature Reviews Drug Discovery is a monthly journal aimed at everyone working in the drug discovery and development arena. In addition to the highest-quality reviews and perspectives covering the entire field, each issue includes news stories that investigate the hottest topics in drug discovery, timely summaries of key primary research papers, and concise updates on the latest advances in fast-moving areas such as new drug approvals, patent law and emerging industry trends.
Publication Date: 1949 - Current
This quarterly journal showcases important review articles on topics of high current interest. Topics covered have included biochemical and cellular pharmacology, drug metabolism and disposition, renal pharmacology, neuropharmacology, behavioral pharmacology, clinical pharmacology, and toxicology. IUPHAR nonmenclature reports are published here. Pharmacological Reviews has the third highest impact factor of the Science Citation Index's pharmacy and pharmacology journals (2010).
Pharmacology & Therapeutics
Publication Date: 1979 - Current
Pharmacology & Therapeutics presents lucid, critical and authoritative reviews of currently important topics in pharmacology. Since articles are commissioned, instructions to authors are provided by the editor responsible for recruiting the work. Celebrating its 20th year of scientific excellence, Pharmacology & Therapeutics continues to be among the top 10 most cited journals in pharmacology.
Orphanet is the reference portal for information on rare diseases and orphan drugs, for all audiences. Orphanet’s aim is to help improve the diagnosis, care and treatment of patients with rare diseases.
Subjects: Alternative Medicine
, Evidence-Based Medicine
, Internal and Family Medicine
, Medical Anthropology
, Mental and Behavioral Health
, Neurology and Neuroscience
, Obstetrics and Gynecology
, Pharmacy and Pharmacology
, Primary Care
, Sports Medicine
, Test and Board Prep
Ask a Librarian
During hours that chat is monitored, use the box below to chat with a DeLib librarian. Alternatively, contact us via a different method by clicking here.