Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
EBM Databases for Primary Evidence
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database providing citations to biomedical literature in the following fields: medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences.
The TRIP Database searches over 75 sites of high-quality medical information. The TRIP Database gives you direct, hyperlinked access to the largest collection of 'evidence-based' material on the web as well as articles from premier on-line journals such as the BMJ, JAMA, NEJM etc.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, and a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases.
ACP journal club
Consists of two journals ACP Journal Club, a publication of the American College of Physicians, and Evidence-Based Medicine, a joint publication with the British Medical Journal Group.
Embase (Excerpta medica)
A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
EBM Databases for Background Questions
A repository of medical knowledge from internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, pharmacy, diagnosis and management, basic sciences, patient care, and more. Continuously expanding, all databases in the repository contain the latest editions of selected medical titles.
Full text access to selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials
Specifically designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice by summarizing published evidence and specific recommendations made for patient care.
Epocrates - FREE
• Review drug prescribing and safety information for thousands of brand, generic, and OTC drugs
• Check for potentially harmful drug-drug interactions among up to 30 drugs at a time
• Identify pills by imprint code and physical characteristics
• Access timely medical news and research information
• Perform dozens of calculations, such as BMI and GFR
to register for free WCM-Q account.
First Consult - FREE
Do you need evidence-based answers to clinical questions at the point of care? The First Consult iPhone/iPad app is your solution. The app allows First Consult’s trusted answers to be stored on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch. A data connection is required for the initial content download and content updates, but is not required to use the app itself.
Notes: Log in with your ClinicalKey account created from a WCMC-networked computer.
MedCalc 3000 EBM Stats
Comprehensive calculator of EBMr-related statistics. Available for iPhone, iPod, and Android.
Skyscape Medical Library - FREE
The Skyscape Medical Library (SML) app is the only decision-support tool for Physicians, Nurses, Students and Healthcare Professionals with over 400 resources/titles from leading Publishers, Authors and Medical Societies. Originally released over 20 years ago as a first mHealth tool of its kind, over its lifetime it has been trusted by more than 2.6 million Healthcare Professionals (HCPs) to access the medical resources they know and trust at the point of care.
Calculate (Medical Calculator) by QxMD - FREE
From the maker of the apps 'The ECG Guide' and 'Pedi STAT' comes 'Calculate', a next-generation clinical calculator and decision support tool, freely available to the medical community.
DynaMed Plus - FREE
DynaMed is a clinical reference database with more than 3,100 evidence-based clinical summaries updated daily and intended for use primarily at the point-of-care. If your institution subscribes to DynaMed, download this application and contact your site administrator for the necessary access code. Once the access code has been entered, you will have access to DynaMed content for the duration of your institution’s subscription.
To find more information about installing and authenticating this app, see
this link for more information.
EBM Web tools
CATmaker and EBM Calculators
CATmaker is a software tool which helps you create Critically Appraised Topics (CATs) for studies in therapy, diagnosis, rognosis, and harm and Systematic Reviews of Therapy." It works at all stages of this process, from creating a clinical question, developing a search strategy, to calculating clinical measures, to creating summaries of the work done. Note: Windows only. The site also includes EBM calculators (which require Shockwave.)
Worksheets to guide in the critical appraisal of medical evidence, and examples of their use.
Evidence-Based Medicine Worksheets
Dartmouth College's Biomedical Libraries have produced a series of critical appraisal worksheets addressing most areas of EBM, including: asking a clinical question, appraising studies, and applying evidence to patients.
KT Clearinghouse Stats Calculator
KT Clearinghouse Toolbox
A selection of EBM-related tools, including an EBM stats calculator (see above), critical appraisal sheets, and tools for converting EBM stats, e.g. OR to NNT.
The GATE frame
Jackson R, Ameratunga S, Broad J, Connor J, Lethaby A, Robb G, Wells S, Glasziou P, Heneghan C. The GATE frame: critical appraisal with pictures. Evidence-based medicine [Internet]. 2006 [2007 Jan 11; cited 2015 Feb 22];11(2):35-8. Available from: http://ebm.bmj.com/content/11/2/35.long.
Information Services Librarian
Subjects: Alternative Medicine
, Evidence-Based Medicine
, Internal and Family Medicine
, Medical Anthropology
, Mental and Behavioral Health
, Neurology and Neuroscience
, Obstetrics and Gynecology
, Pharmacy and Pharmacology
, Primary Care
, Sports Medicine
, Test and Board Prep
Librarian, Scholarly Communications
, Consumer Health
, Global Health
, Infectious Disease
, Internal and Family Medicine
, Mathematics and Statistics
, Mental and Behavioral Health
, Physics and Engineering
, Preventative Medicine
Ask a Librarian
During hours that chat is monitored, use the box below to chat with a DeLib librarian. Alternatively, contact us via a different method by clicking here.