Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Clinical Sciences: Drugs
Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations
Identifies drug products approved on the basis of safety and effectiveness by the Food and Drug Administration under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act.
CDC STD Treatment (Tx) Guidelines
CDC Sexually Transmitted Disease Treatment Guidelines.
This Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in FDA-approved medication package inserts.
Drug information portal
Provides a gateway to selected drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies. At the top of the page are links to individual resources with potential drug information, including summaries tailored to various audiences. Resources include the NLM search systems useful in searching for a drug, NLM research resources, resources organized by audience and class, and other NIH and government resources such as FDA and CDC. More than 12,000 drugs can be searched using this facility.
Drugs@FDA provides one place where you can search for official information about FDA approved brand name and generic drugs. The main uses of Drugs@FDA are: Finding labels for approved drug products. Finding generic drug products for a brand name drug product. Finding therapeutically equivalent drug products for a brand name or generic drug product. Finding consumer information for drugs approved after 1998. Finding all drugs with a specific active ingredient.
LactMed, a free online database with information on drugs and lactation, is one of the newest additions to the National Library of Medicine's TOXNET system, a Web-based collection of resources covering toxicology, chemical safety, and environmental health. Geared to the healthcare practitioner and nursing mother, LactMed contains over 450 drug records. It includes information such as maternal levels in breast milk, infant levels in blood, potential effects in breastfeeding infants and on lactation itself, the American Academy of Pediatrics category indicating the level of compatibility of the drug with breastfeeding, and alternate drugs to consider. References are included, as is nomenclature information, such as the drug's Chemical Abstract Service's (CAS) Registry number and its broad drug class.
Presents a database of approved drug products with therapeutic equivalence evaluations, provided by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA). Allows users to search via active ingredient, proprietary name, application number, or applicant holder.
Pillbox was developed to aid in the identification of unknown solid dosage pharmaceuticals. The system combines high-resolution images of tablets and capsules with FDA-approved appearance information (imprint, shape, color, etc.) to enable users to visually search for and identify an unknown solid dosage pharmaceutical.
TOXLINE is the National Library of Medicine's extensive collection of online bibliographic information covering the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals. It contains more than 3 million bibliographic citations, almost all with abstracts and/or indexing terms and CAS Registry Numbers.